Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
ABC Life Literacy Canada – a non-profit organization that inspires Canadians to increase their literacy skills. We connect and mobilize business, unions, government, communities and individuals to support lifelong learning and achieve our goals through leadership in programs, communications and partnerships. ABC Life Literacy Canada envisions a Canada where everyone has the skills they need to live a fully engaged life.
Auto Repair Source – provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
Duolingo – Learn Spanish, French, German, Italian, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, Dutch, Irish, Danish, Swedish, Ukrainian, Esperanto, Polish, Greek, Hungarian, Norwegian, Hebrew, Welsh, Swahili, Romanian, and English. Totally fun and free. Practice your speaking, reading, listening and writing skills while playing a game! You’ll improve your vocabulary and grammar skills by answering questions and completing lessons. Start with basic verbs, phrases, and sentences, and learn new words daily.
CELA – is a collection of nearly 500,000 books, magazines, newspapers and described videos in a choice of accessible formats for people with a print disability. If you are unable to read conventional print due to a disability sign up with your public library card, or contact your local branch for assistance. Enjoy a full range of subjects, genres, & award winners, select from favourites for kids, teens, and adults, stay up to date with 50 newspapers and 150 magazines, and download books or receive home delivery by mail!
EBSCOhost Canadian – database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international periodicals in full text; full-text reference books; thousands of full-text biographies and an image collection for thousands of photos, maps and flags, including images from Canadian Press.
EBSCOhost Research Databases – provides a complete and optimized research solution comprised of e-journals, e-books, and research databases.
eLibraries Manitoba – a collection of ebooks and audio books.
Explora – EBSCO’s interface for Schools and Public Libraries, it supports both student research and classroom instruction with simple searches that quickly deliver relevant results, easy-to-browse categories, topic overviews, and much more.
Home Improvement Reference Center – an online resource for home improvement assistance in areas such as repair, maintenance, remodeling, electrical work and much more.
Kanopy – Offers video streaming for libraries with one of the largest and most unique collections in the world featuring over 26,000 movies, documentaries, indie and foreign films from over hundreds of producers including The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Kino Lorber, and PBS and thousands of independent filmmakers.
Khan Academy – Offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
Mango Languages – learn foreign languages quickly and easily via Mango Languages’ online learning courses. Start speaking a new language today.
Manitobia – the history of Manitoba.
Library and Archives Canada – Library and Archives Canada is a federal institution tasked with acquiring, preserving and making Canada’s documentary heritage accessible.
NoveList K-8 – designed especially for elementary and middle school students, NoveList K-8 Plus is an online database with fiction and nonfiction titles chosen specifically to support school curriculums as well as pleasure reading.
NoveList Plus – the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more.
NNELS – digital talking books for people with print disabilities.
Open Textbooks – Open Textbooks are open educational resources (OER); they are instructional resources created and shared in ways so that more people have access to them.
Our World – free access to nearly 200 million pages of digital historical content through the University of Manitoba Libraries and Gale, a Cengage Company. Manitobans enjoy free, permanent online access to rich primary source and research content including newspapers, maps, photos, pamphlets, manuscripts etc. The available collections include archives of The Economist, The Financial Times, and The Times (London), as well as digitized materials from The Smithsonian Institution, the world’s largest museum and research complex.
Senior Centre without Walls – is a service provided by Age and Opportunity. Book discussions, travelogues, lectures, and many other presentations are available by phone. It offers a unique opportunity for Manitobans, 55 years of age and older, to join educational and recreational programs from the comfort of their own homes via teleconference format. To learn more call A & O at: 1-888-333-3121!
Small Engine Repair Center – a collection of comprehensive full-text content, this database provides users with detailed, yet user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.
Tumble Books – an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love.
Ultimate Guide to Microsoft Windows 10 – the most extensive and comprehensive guide to troubleshooting and solving common problems in Windows 10. From simple issues like customizing your Start menu to complex solutions for fixing the Blue Screen of Death.
World Book Online – offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides. Additional features include translations into 30 languages, text-to-speech capabilities, learning and life skills activities, and interactive video.